First Almost-All Nighter

As I came home from work all I wanted to do was take a shower and get into bed. I had just worked 10 hours straight in order to get specs to our client, but that was only the finishing touches. The day before I didn’t get off until 11:30, which left me with very little sleep and a lack of seeing actually day since well Tuesday at lunch. As I was on my way home I had talked to one of my good friends, and when she mentioned it was Thursday, I was shocked. I literally was in a state of continuous work without any knowledge or awareness of my surroundings.

I doubt my job will be like this most days, but boy was it crazy. It took me 22 hours to finish the specs, not to mention the 8ish hours I worked on them earlier and the 6 ish that my two teammates did to help me as I was finalizing the spreadsheets. When I was little, I wanted to be a doctor, but I soon realized 1) it was not my calling and 2) I did not want to have to go to that much school all at once and then get dumped into a “Grey’s – like” residency (although I wouldn’t mind some of those sexy men in my life.) However, last night solidified it. I couldn’t even work 22 hours in TWO days without feeling like I was going to keel over at any moment. Granted it may have to do with the thousand + rows and the 24 columns which when printed you need a magnifying glass, but the point is the same. All I want is to climb into bed and cuddle .. well my stuffed dog as there is no one to cuddle.

Leave a Reply

