Side Effects: Movie Review

This weekend Side Effects was released. I hadn’t seen any advertising on this movie, which intrigued me. On Friday, I decided to go see the 8 o’clock showing at my dine-in theater. I showed up 10 minutes early, and it was sold out. I figured as much since it was a Friday; however, I tried again Saturday and the 11 o’clock, 2 o’clock, 5 o’clock, and 8 o’clock were also sold out. At this point, with that critic reviews and the audience reviews on Flixster PLUS every showing being sold out I had to see it. I got a ticket for the 11 o’clock showing on Sunday in preparation for it to be sold out once again.

I wasn’t sure what I was getting into, since the trailer wasn’t very detailed. I kept waiting for the murder to happen. I knew someone was killed, but I didn’t know who. Instead, it kept going on and on about Emily’s mental illness. Finally she kills her husband, which seems long over due at this point. Now I knew there was a twist coming, but just wasn’t sure exactly what it was. As the mystery unfolded, I was intrigued by the continuous twists and turns wondering who else was involved in the setup.

I would like to go into more detail; however, the more I discuss the movie the more I’m giving it away. I understand the reason why the critics and viewers both rated this movie as a must go. The plot, the acting, and the intellectual challenge was brilliantly combined. It wasn’t too far stretched or unbelievable. You felt compassion for the villain, and you felt compassion for the Jude Law, the therapist being set up. The conflict of interest grew strong, and I became emotionally attached to the characters. Overall, I became engrossed in the plot’s development, and cheered the therapist on – I mean he had his whole life ripped out from under him due to a random incident. The victim you once had connected with is now the enemy, and you want to see her suffer. Jude Law and Rooney Mara were outstanding. I could go on and on about the movie’s complexities, but I much rather say – GO SEE IT! 🙂

Ratings:

Entertainment factor: 9/10

Acting quality: 8.5/10

Plot: 9/10

Overall: 9/10

Other Reviews:

2 thoughts on “Side Effects: Movie Review

Leave a Reply

