The Cult – CW’s Warning to the Following

The CW’s new tv series the Cult has done little to no benefit to the CW’s line up. I watch it every week – not my first on my list, but I have to give it a chance. I recent,y was asked to update a friend about the last few episodes, and the easiest way to describe it is a warning to the Following (the new Fox series). Think about it. The Following is about a cult that follows a serial killer as a TV show. Now think if there become ‘true believers’ and there was now a cult around the cult. I mean how creepy is that.

Per my previous review on The Following, I’m not sure how this will continue through multiple seasons – and I’m not a HUGE fan, but it is on my Monday night list. However, if the TV series takes off, maybe one day we will look back and see the Cult as a warning. Okay, okay – that isn’t very realistic, but it is what the TV series is about.

I am not sure how I feel about it – it is a little creepy and I don’t trust anyone but the main actor who is chasing the ‘true believers’ through each episode to find his brother. The last episode revealed the initiation of the various followers into the true believer cult, which makes me second guess the disappearance of his brother and the story all together. What I haven’t figured out is who is leading the cult (the writer or the actor who plays Billy Grimm). I guess that is what makes me keep wanting to watch it. It has a lot of potential, but as of right now I wouldn’t say it is anything worth multiple series.

Review:
Entertainment Factor: 7/10
Acting Quality: 8.5/10
Plot: 7.5/10
Overall: 7.5/10
Series Potential: 9/10

Leave a Reply

