The Great Gatsby : Movie Review

Sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. I’ve been feeling crazy lately with life. Anyways, this last weekend I saw The Great Gatsby. I never was a big fan of the book and went into the movie with very low expectations. That being said I knew I had to see it in 3D no matter how much I hate 3D. I’m expecting everyone to know what Gatsby is about, so now let me tell you how I felt the movie went. The-Great-Gatsby_06

  1. Although everyone did a pretty good job at acting the part, Leonardo DiCaprio was so intense I actually felt hatred towards Gatsby and almost felt bad for the husband (ALMOST).
  2. Daisy who in the book you hate for her flipped disregard for anyone else’s feelings, you actually felt as the victim.
  3. The 3D was great, I’m not actually sure how you could see it in a regular theater.
  4. The plot was fully developed and you weren’t left confused by the complex story points.
  5. They used 21st century music and spiced it up to seem like it would be fitting for the 20s. I’m sorry none of that existed and I didn’t sign up to see music video after music video.

Overall, it wasn’t too bad – if you aren’t a fan of the book and are willing to shift your feelings towards the different characters. So, go see it in 3D if nothing else to look at the graphics.

Ratings:

Entertainment Factor: 7/10

Acting Quality: 8.5/10

Visual Effects: 8/10

Plot: 6.5/10

Overall: 7.5/10

Other Reviews:

2 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby : Movie Review

  1. Perhaps it is just me, but I hate the husband more, who fooled around despite saying how much he loved Daisy. Daisy-the victim? Yes, perhaps so at the beginning. But towards the end (+the car crash), I think not.

    Gatsby, the guy who had an ideal notion of love and what he wanted, and him working towards the aim. I’m not sure, but I certainly don’t hate him at all.

    • If I were reviewing the book, I’d totally agree with you. I was just going off how their acting made me feel. Not saying it was bad – just different than the book, so the whole perception of Gatsby changed for me. Daisy seemed to go from one possessive man to another.

Leave a comment